Tension in Ogun assembly as APC members face uncertainty over 2019

There is tension in the Ogun State House of Assembly, as the political future of members of the ruling APC in the house in uncertain.

The APC leadership in the state, is also not helping the situation, as it keeps most of the lawmakers in the dark, on their fate in the 2019 polls, ahead of the submission of the final list of candidates, to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Only four of the 18 APC members in the house, including the speaker, Suraj Adekumbi, secured the party’s ticket to contest in the 2019 poll in the state.

At the moment, even the four APC members given the tickets to contest in the house of reps poll or seek return to the house, are still not sure, if the tickets will be withdrawn from them by the APC leadership.

Uptill this weekend, the APC leadership and major stakeholders in the party in the state, are still tinkering with the list of winners of both the state house of assembly and national assembly polls.

In the process, some of those already given the ticket may lose it or swap it for other elective posts in the 2019 polls.

At the moment, the speaker of the house, Suraj Adekumbi, had secured a ticket to contest the house of representatives poll, while Idowu Olowofuja (Abeokuta South-Two Constituency), Ganiyu Oyedeji (ifo -two constituency) and Tunde Sanusi (Obafemi/Owode constituency), got the APC tickets, to seek re-election to the assembly.

Fifteen other lawmakers missed out in the race for the APC ticket, as they were not among the aspirants on the state APC consensus list of aspirants.

Those that lost out in the consensus arrangement and not considered for the primaries, include the Deputy Speaker, Kunle Oluomo, the majority leader, Adeyinka Mafe, former majority leader, Isreal Jolaoso, Olayiwola Ojodu, Olusola Sonuga and Oludotun Fasanya.

Other are the APC whip, Adebowale Ojuri, Olusola Bankole, Dare Kadiri, Adebowale ojo-Viwanu, Mrs Folakemi Akintayo, Mrs Yetunde Sogbein, Bowale Solaja and Aina Akinpelu.



Please subscribe to our newsletter


Do you have any request or enquiry? Do not hesitate to send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2021 RockcityFM The Voice of the People

Need Help? Chat with us

Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?


Create Account