South West governors set economic agenda for the region

Lagos State Governor, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode; Deputy Governor of Ogun State, Mrs. Yetunde Onanuga; Gov. Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo State; Gov. Olusegun Mimiko of Ondo State; Gov. Rauf Aregbesola of Osun State and Gov. Ayo Fayose of Ekiti State during the Southwest Governors’ Forum meeting in Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti State, on Monday, February 13, 2017.

South West states governors have agreed to adopt common policies and programmes to fast track development of the region.

The governors at the end of their meeting held in Ado Ekiti, agreed on a common framework on security, and collaboration on energy, power, digital, telecommunications, leisure, entertainment, water and infrastructure.

The governors in a communique issued at the end of the meeting, read by their host, Governor Ayodele Fayose, also agreed  to set up regional  technical working committee on the south west integrated infrastructure development. To coordinate the proposed integration.

They also agreed on the South West regional integrated commercial agriculture development programme, while Lagos state is selected to champion a structural regional food exchange programme.

Another of their agreement is comparing of notes of education by the six states with each of them donating a centre for the establishment of regional centre of excellence.

Fayose pointed out that to move the zone forward, there must be respect for the political beliefs and opinions of others, urging the governors to refrain from engaging in any act capable of undermine one another.

His words: “For instance, in the 2017 Federal Government budget, the South west is one of the least beneficiaries. The 2017 budget is about N7 trillion and the only capital project allocated to Ekiti State is the Akure–Ado Ekiti road to which N250 million was earmarked.

“What can N250 million do on a road that is begging for reconstruction? There is even no guarantee that the N250 million budgetary provision will be made available at the end of the day. I am sure this is applicable to other states too compared to other zones.”

All the state governors attended the meeting, except Governor Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun state represented by his deputy, Mrs Yetunde Onanuga.

The next meeting will hold in Abeokuta, the Ogun state capital.


Please subscribe to our newsletter


Do you have any request or enquiry? Do not hesitate to send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2021 RockcityFM The Voice of the People

Need Help? Chat with us

Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?


Create Account