PDP wins Osun West senatorial bye-election

PDP wins Osun West senatorial bye-election

Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Ademola Adeleke, winner of Saturday’s Osun West senatorial district bye-election.

Official result released by the INEC shows that Adeleke polled 97,480 votes against his closest rival, Mudashiru Husein of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who polled 66,116 votes.

Adeleke won nine of the ten local government areas where the bye-election was conducted, which include Iwo, Ede North, Ede South, Ire-Wole, Ola-Oluwa, Ayedire, Ayedaade, Egbedore and Isokan.

Adeleke, however, lost to his APC opponent in Ejigbo local government area.

The returning officer, Professor Olayide Lawal, declared Adeleke as the winner of the poll.

He gave the breakdown of the election result as follows: Iwo Local Government: APC-12,205 PDP-12,547, Olaoluwa Local Government: APC 5,316 PDP 5,618, Ayedire Local Government: APC 5,360 PDP 5,789, Ejigbo Local Government: APC 12,229 PDP 9,723, Irewole Local Government: APC 8,952 PDP 9,096, Ede North Local Government: APC 2,784 PDP 18,559, Ede South Local Government: APC 2,096 PDP 13,406, Ayedaade Local Government: APC 7179 PDP 9,061, Egbedore Local Government: APC 4,768 PDP 7,142, Isokan Local Government: APC 5227 PDP 6,539.
Please subscribe to our newsletter


Leave a Reply


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2018 RockCity 101.9 FM. All rights reserved

News Categories


Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?


Create Account