PDP wants Ademola Adeleke declared winner of Osun governorship poll *APC disagrees with PDP *Re-run to hold on 27th

PDP national leadership has rejected the declaration of the Osun State governorship poll by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) as inconclusive

It demands the immediate declaration of its candidate, Senator Ademola Adeleke, the winner of the poll.

The Party’s National Publicity Secretary, Kola Ologbondiyan, addressing a news conference in Abuja, argues that the poll was conclusive, and that its candidate was in clear lead and met the provisions of the 1999 constitution.

PDP warned that it will use all forces available in a democracy to fight the declaration of the poll as inconclusive.

Some of the options, according to PDP, is going to court, or boycotting the supplementary poll.

Meanwhile, APC national leadership has rejected a claim by PDP that the Osun State governorship poll was conclusive.

APC in a statement by its National Publicity Secretary, Yekini Nabena, regards as baseless, the claim and demand of the PDP that its candidate, Ademola Adeleke be declared the winner of the poll unacceptable

Nabena asked APC supporters in Osun State to remain calm, and begin mobilizing for the re-run poll on Thursday.

According to Nabena, the conduct of the Osun state governorship poll despite its shortcomings is still far better than those conducted, while PDP was in control of the federal government.

According to APC, the polls conducted under the PDP controlled federal government were noted for the manipulation of votes and subversion of the will of the people.

The re-run of the Osun State governorship poll has been scheduled to hold on Thursday, September 27.

The supplementary election, will hold at the polling centres whose results were cancelled, due to ballot boxes snatching, and faulty card reader machines.

Before the poll was declared inconclusive, Ademola Adeleke of PDP had been credited with 254,698 votes, while his closest rival, Isiaka Oyetola of APC, obtained 254, 354 votes.

Trailing them is Iyiola Omisore of the SDP, who scored 128 thousand and 49 votes.

The state INEC Chief Returning Officer, Professor Adeola Afuwape, announcing the result in Osogbo, said the 353 votes, which Adeleke scored above that of Oyetola, is far lower than 3,498 votes cancelled at some of the polling centres in Ife north and Orolu local government areas.

Accordingly, the chief returning officer explained that no winner has emerged in the first ballot.


Please subscribe to our newsletter


Do you have any request or enquiry? Do not hesitate to send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2021 RockcityFM The Voice of the People

Need Help? Chat with us

Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?


Create Account