Osoba faults zoning of APC ticket for Ogun 2019 governorship to Yewa axis

Osoba faults zoning of APC ticket for Ogun 2019 governorship to Yewa axis

Former Governor Olusegun Osoba has opposed the zoning of All Progressives Congress (APC) ticket for the Ogun state’s 2019 governorship, to the Yewa axis of the state.

Instead, Osoba wants the governorship race to be thrown open to all APC aspirants, from both the Ogun West and Ogun East senatorial districts.

Earlier, Governor Ibikunle Amosun had announced the zoning of the APC ticket to the Yewa axis, promising to support only APC candidate from the axis, for the governorship poll.

But Osoba, addressing his supporters at his Ibara home in Abeokuta on Wednesday, asked Amosun to instead support all APC governorship aspirants from both Ogun East and West, which according to him has risen to 46.

The former governor, like Amosun, said that APC aspirants from Ogun Central should not be considered for the ticket, because the incumbent governor who will be completing eight years in office in 2019, is from the axis.

“As a party, we have zoned the governorship seat. There is nothing like zoning of office in the past. We give opportunity to anyone to aspire, but we always used maturity to settle it amongst us. That is unwritten, it is a convention. It is not the rule and nobody will go against the agreement.

“Now, so many things have decided us. The Ijebu now come together to be claiming the Ijebu agenda. We must leave the field open. We must examine the Yewa and Ijebu Agenda,” he said.


Osoba, however, enjoined his supporters to work with the Amosun’s group and other defectors from PDP to strengthen APC in the state.

He said, “We are all in APC and nobody will leave the party for anybody. Go back and be united with the past Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) members that just joined us.

“Go to the wards because it is the foundation. There is no more SDP. We are all APC. Let us bring more people to join APC. We should be in unity.”

Top APC leaders at the meeting included former Ogun State Deputy Governor, Prince Segun Adesegun, Senator Adegbenga Kaka, Chief Olu Agemo, the Ogun Central APC  chairman, Prince Kunle Adesina, two former commissioners under Gbenga Daniel’s administration, Doctor Adeleke Adedoyin and Aare Tunde Alabi and Chief Muftau Ajibola, among others.


Please subscribe to our newsletter


Do you have any request or enquiry? Do not hesitate to send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2020 RockcityFM The Voice of the People

Need Help? Chat with us

Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?


Create Account