Ogun, 18 other states to receive ecological fund denied them in 2013

Ogun, 18 other states to receive ecological fund denied them in 2013

Ogun state and 18 other states may each get N2 billion from the ecological fund anytime from now.

A committee set up by the National Economic Council headed by Governor Nasir El-Rufai in their report says the 19 states were excluded by the Jonathan administration in disbursing n2 billion each to the states in 2013.

18 other states, mostly controlled by the opposition parties who were left out of the disbursement by the Jonathan administration are Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Borno, Edo, Ekiti, Imo, Jigawa, and Kano.

Other states left out are Kwara, Lagos, Nasarawa, Niger, Osun, Oyo, Rivers, Sokoto, Yobe, Zamfara and Federal Capital Territory.

El-Rufai said, “So, essentially what President Goodluck Jonathan did was to take N2 billion each from the Ecological Fund and give to some PDP states. Any PDP state that was not his friend; like Kano and Kwara didn’t get, and all the other opposition parties like no ACN state got anything, no ANPP state got anything. 

“This, the committee of the council considered discriminatory and recommended that the 19 states and the FCT that did not get the N2 billion in 2013 be given N2 billion each to level the playing field,” he said.


Please subscribe to our newsletter

©2020 RockcityFM The Voice of the People

New Report


Need Help? Chat with us

Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?


Create Account