NUT says 13 states still owing teachers salaries, allowances

NUT accuses Ogun, 12 other states of owing teachers

Thirteen states are still owing primary and secondary school teachers, according to the Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT).

Osun tops the list of debtor states with 28 months, followed by Nasarawa (26 months), and Kogi (25 months).

Others are Benue with 12 months, Ekiti (nine months), Bayelsa (seven and a half months), Taraba (six months), Abia (five months), Kaduna (five), Ondo (four months), Kwara (two months), Delta (two months) while Oyo state is owing one month.

NUT president, Alogba Olukoya, who made this known at the 2018 annual conference of the union, said data is still being collated nationwide on the states still owing salaries to teachers.

After the collation of the data, he warns that the union will declare strike against the affected states.

Please subscribe to our newsletter


Leave a Reply


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2019 RockCity 101.9 FM. All rights reserved

News Categories


Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?


Create Account