Controversy Trails Proposed Yewa Chieftaincy Title Conferment On Yayi

Controversy is trailing the planned conferment of the traditional title of the Aremo of Yewaland on Senator Solomon Adeola by the paramount ruler of Yewaland, Oba Kehinde Olugbenle.

The proposed conferment of the title on Adeola, who is the senate finance committee chairman, has split people in the axis of Ogun State sharply along political lines.

Spearheading the opposition to the planned conferment of the title is the Ogun West liberation forum, which alleges that the origin of the senator in Yewaland is still doubtful.

Addressing a news conference in Abeokuta, the vice chairman of the group, Wale Akinwande, said such an exalted title is always conferred on an indigene of Yewaland, whose lineage is known and could be confirmed.

But another group calling itself the Ogun West frontlines said the allegation of Ogun West liberation forum is mischievous.

The Ogun West frontliners in a statement signed by a former health commissioner, Doctor Kunle Salako said that Senator Adeola is qualified to be honored with the traditional title.

It dismissed the accusation of the forum doubting the origin of the senator, arguing that he is a bonafide indigene of Ilaro, and that the decision to honor him with the title was taken by the Yewa traditional council.

The group also alleged that most of members of the forum opposing the installation of Adeola are aides of a former governorship candidate.

Meanwhile, the paramount ruler of Yewaland, Oba Kehinde Olugbenle has formally announced the approval of the conferment of pan Yewa chieftaincy titles on seven distinguished son and daughters it Yewaland.

The monarch in a statement by his media consultant, Femi Dokunmu, disclosed that that the approval followed a meeting of the Yoruba traditional council held latest September 28.

Olugbenle said the seven chiefs whose nominations have spanned between five and ten years include Otunba Akeem Adigun who will be honored with the title of Apagunpote of Yewaland.

Others are Senator Solomon Adeola as the Aremo of Yewaland, and his wife, Mrs Temitope Adeola as the Yeye Aremo, while former deputy governor Salimot Badru will be installed as the Beere of Yewaland.

Alhaji Ibrahim Egungbohun will be installed with the title of Oluomo of Yewaland, Chief Dele Oderinde (the Tayese of Yewaland), Prince Adewale Adesina (Babaloja of Yewaland, as well as, Chief Isiah Akinsowon as Mabeobaje of Yewaland.

The monarch explains that chiefs were carefully selected by the Yewa Obas on the basis of their contributions to the socio-economic development of Yewaland and mankind in general.

Oba Olugbenle adds that the formal celebration of the chiefs who had been issued with certificates of conferment, with their families, friends and other well wishers, will hold at a later date subject to arrangements between the Obas and the seven chiefs.

YOU CAN ALSO READ: 2023: Yayi Ask Yewa To Work Hard


Please subscribe to our newsletter


Do you have any request or enquiry? Do not hesitate to send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2021 RockcityFM The Voice of the People

Need Help? Chat with us

Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?


Create Account