Army redeploys top commanders in major shake up

nigerian army

The Nigerian Army has appointed new commanders and staff officers for some of its formations and units nationwide

The new postings released by the Office of the Military Secretary (Army), names Major General R.O. Yusuf, as the new Commander Training and Doctrine Command, and Major General A Oyebade, as the Army headquarters  Chief of Logistics

Also, Major General A.M. Dikko is the new Army First Division GOC, while Major General I Attahiru is the new Theatre Commander, Operation Lafiya Doyle.

Former Theatre Commander, Lafiya Doyle, Major General Leo Irabor is now the field commander, while Major General PJ Dauke moves to 81 Division as GOC, and Brigadier General B.I. Ahanotu as the Acting GOC of Army Third Division.”

In addition, Brigadier General I.M. Yusuf is now the Acting GOC, Seventh Army Division, while Brigadier General S.O. Olabanji, is the Acting GOC 8 Task Force Division.

Also moved are Major General E.B. Oyefolu, as the new commander, Nigerian Army Training Centre, and Brigadier General MG Ali, to Nigerian Army Special Forces School Buni Yadi, as Commandant.

Brigadier General I.M. Obot is Brigade Commander 26 Task Force Brigade, while Brigadier General A.O. Quadri is now 25 task force brigade commander.

Others affected in the new posting include some commanders and staff officers at the defence, army headquarters and brigades.

The army Spokesman, Brig.-Gen. Sani Usman explained in a statement announcing the deployment that it was in a bid to re-strategise the operation.


Please subscribe to our newsletter


Do you have any request or enquiry? Do not hesitate to send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2020 RockcityFM The Voice of the People

Need Help? Chat with us

Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?


Create Account