Ogun assembly rejects defection of 2 APC members to PDP

Ogun State House of Assembly has rejected the defection of two of its APC members to PDP.

The lawmakers, Harrison Adeyemi representing Ogun waterside constituency, and Adebiyi Adeleye of Remo North constituency, had presented their letter of defection to the speaker, Suraj Adekumbi, since last month.

The speaker, during the Tuesday plenary of the house, backed the position of the House Majority Leader, Adeyinka Mafe, who said that the letter of defections submitted separately by the two APC members, should be set aside.

The speaker faults the claim of division by the reformed APC, said they are not a parallel executive committee, but a group within APC which fused into PDP

Adekunbi also explains that former governor Adams Oshiomhole still remains the APC national chairman, while Chief Derin Adebiyi is the Ogun State APC chairman.

Meanwhile, the speaker during the Tuesday plenary, accepted a letter of defection from one of PDP lawmaker, Bowale Solaja from Ijebu North one to APC.

With the position of the speaker, APC now has absolute majority in the assembly with 20 out of 27 member assembly, following the earlier defection of Folakemi Akintayo and Ojo Biwani, both from PDP to APC, last august 16.

Please subscribe to our newsletter


Leave a Reply


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2018 RockCity 101.9 FM. All rights reserved

News Categories


Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?


Create Account