2016 Footballer of The Year: CAF Fails To Shortlist Mikel, Ihenachor And Musa

The Confederation of African Football has announced the top five shortlists for the 2016 African Player of the year with Kelechi Iheanacho, Ahmed Musa and John Obi Mikel not making the cut.

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Riyad Mahrez, Sadio Mane, Mohammed Salah and Islam Slimani made the top five decided by votes from the members of the CAF Media Committee, CAF Technical and Development Committee, and half of the 20-member panel of experts.

Borussia Dortmund Striker, Aubameyang won the accolade for 2015 after a sizzling start to the previous season for the Bundesliga Club.

In the African Player of the year (based in Africa) category, Dennis Onyango, Hlompho Kekana, Keegan Dolly and Khama Billiat from the 2016 African Champions League winning side, Mamelodi Sundowns made the mark with T.P Mazembe’s Rainford Kabala completing the list.

The GLO/CAF awards gala night will take place on January 5, 2017 in Abuja.

Please subscribe to our newsletter


Leave a Reply


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2018 RockCity 101.9 FM. All rights reserved

News Categories


Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?


Create Account